top of page
Search
Writer's pictureWarren Wee

STEM Reflection

Throughout the course of 2 weeks where we prepared for the STEM competition, I felt so many emotions. It started off during the briefing. We were there about to go over to the Perdana block of Maktab Sabah when we were called to the hall and given the briefing. At first I was shocked at how little time was given, we only had 2 weeks to prepare an innovation and present it. I was very terrified at first but as time went on, I felt more and more confident to continue. My team had to change our idea 3 times due to setbacks. The first idea was an educational game but we shot it down due to a lack of time. The second being an Artificial Reality (AR) application to read trigger images and help students learn with them. Unfortunately, the only application able to achieve such a thing was already taken down from the app store. We were left with our final idea, QR Code Textbook Cards.


We got to work and made an amazing prototype which would later become the souvenir for visitors. We then created the real card made using a matrix card. We were proud of the success and we got to work on the video, posters and presentation. Now, at this point I was very nervous as I was the one tasked with presenting the idea to the judge. Throughout the final days, I worked on what to say and how to say it. It helped me a lot in the long run and you'll this day I'll never forget how much confidence I had during the STEM roadshow. Throughout the roadshow, students from Form 1 till Form 6 came over and each time, I would give the same speech about the QR Code Textbook Card. At the end of the day, it came down to the results. The award ceremony was beyond confusing as there were no proper rankings or anything. When my team was not mentioned, I felt as if all my energy and time was wasted, I was devastated, confused and bitter. Little did I know that the awards given were just individual performance awards and not the final results. In reality, me and my team had actually won the Gold Award alongside a few other teams. I was very confused that day but nonetheless thrilled to have won something for once.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Career Choice

Nowadays, people often talk about career choices. It has become something that everyone must decide on even before entering the working...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page