top of page
Search
Writer's pictureWarren Wee

Career Choice

Nowadays, people often talk about career choices. It has become something that everyone must decide on even before entering the working field. Today, I am going to write about my career choice.


I personally have 2 but I am just going to write about one of them. I am interested in graphic design. The reason why I would choose his career is because I personally am interested in designing things like posters, pictures, covers and logos. I only just discovered this passion during form 6 while taking ICT and MUET. It is very interesting how being exposed to certain things can help you find your groove and discover things about yourself that you never knew in the first place.


Secondly, this field is in high demand in Malaysia. Due to the sudden rise in modern technology, new jobs are appearing in developing countries like Malaysia. Graphic design is one of the few jobs that are still quite new in Malaysia due to the slower advancements compared to other countries like The UK or the United States of America. This being a job in high demand makes it easier to obtain due to the lack of talents in this particular field.


Finally, this career has considerable requirements. This job basically requires at least a bachelor's degree which is actually not as high compared to certain jobs that require a master's degree or higher. This makes it not a challenging and time consuming to complete my studies in order to look for a job in this field.


I found a course that is offered at Universiti Malaysia Sabah(UMS), Bachelor of Visual Arts Technology which only requires an STPM Certificate with MUET. The course is 6 semesters long, about 3 years and even has Visual arts lecturer as a job prospect, which is also my ambition. Skills I would need are a creative mind, ICT knowledge and the ability to create works of art.


In short, this course seems like a good fit for me although I am torn between 2 passions and 2 courses I could go for. Basically, it is something sustainable and has the prospect of being a long and joyful career for me.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

STEM Reflection

Throughout the course of 2 weeks where we prepared for the STEM competition, I felt so many emotions. It started off during the briefing....

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page