top of page
Search
Writer's pictureWarren Wee

My View On The Education System Part 2

Following an unexpected run-in with the teacher today, I was inspired to continue writing about this topic. This time, I will be focusing on a select few subjects that are usually questionable in the education system. To start thing off, I'd like to talk about history. We usually see history as a subject that is almost useless if we are not interested in studying the said subject. The truth is that history is indeed a subject focused on memorisation. It trains us to memorise facts and serves as a supporting subject for bahasa melayu because bahasa melayu requires mastery over facts, current issues and old quotes. It also is a way for the government to maintain the country's culture and heritage alive. As for maths, everyone sees it as a burden. Probably even a nuisance. However, I have a theory about how maths is supposed to help us. There is a concept where if you learn something the hard way, you'll be able to do it easier. Maths is about making us think logically and technically and the added difficulty serves to strengthen our brain functions as well as build a sense of logic in our thinking. The harder the math questions, the more we think. The more we are able to think, the easier it will be for us to complete simple tasks. The last subject I'd like to talk about is science. You might be very confused right now. Most people like it but you still have a certain hatred for it. The reason is because you probably don't know why you're learning it. Science in general is the study of how and why things happen. Knowing about the atomic structure of a compound, how water evaporates and theorizing about the mysteries of the universe might seem useless for those of us who don't want to get a job associated with it but consider my argument for at least a second. Through my experience after studying science, my view of the world has changed drastically over the years. The way I look at things has changed so much that my lifestyle has changed completely. Science isn't just for knowledge, it helps you live your life better and more efficiently. The best example I can give is being able to know which material to use and when to use it. I find myself using insulators when handling electrical items or hot items and I once was able to diagnose my health issue to the doctor who could not figure it out himself.


The bottom line is that we should think more about why we are given these subjects to study as we progress further each year. Any opinions and disagreements can be stated in the comments. Until next time!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

STEM Reflection

Throughout the course of 2 weeks where we prepared for the STEM competition, I felt so many emotions. It started off during the briefing....

Career Choice

Nowadays, people often talk about career choices. It has become something that everyone must decide on even before entering the working...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page